From $0 to $5m+ in Digital Art/NFTs. An Interview with Legendary NFT Collector and Advocate- Silver Surfer

Eddie Cranswick
4 min readMar 4, 2021

Investor/Collector Profile #1 — Silver Surfer

Silver Surfer @7Surfer7Silver7 is prominent and popular face amongst the NFT community. His collection will leave most NFT investors in awe, having amounted a sizeable portfolio.

Collection value (approx range is fine)

$4,000,000-$5,000,000

Collection returns (approx value is fine)

I haven’t sold any of my NFT’s really. It’s hard to put a number on returns on the collection as a whole. Many of these will sit within my wallet for a very long time.

Collection Links

https://superrare.co/z10n
https://niftygateway.com/profile/silversurfer

Favorite piece and artist?

Pak

My favorite artist is Pak. Everything he does is a brushstroke on a galaxy-sized canvas he is painting with all of the work and ideas he intertwines. His Twitter is filled with wisdom, mystery, and games for his community. I think there may even be a treasure hunt in there somewhere. I have a few favorites from him, but I guess the one I would have to choose is The Creation drop he had on Makersplace.

He used collectors in a way to paint the final Creation piece. He gamified it with a leaderboard, and it was fun to compete against other collectors to win the top spot. He also got a bit of hate, which was exciting to see people’s brains explode from their own madness. The memories he creates with each drop are genius and make those moments priceless for his work’s collectors
.
A close second would be all of the Hedra collection. One of my first NFT’s I collected from him was Hedra Crown, when I first discovered his work. This collection will stay with me forever.

I also want to mention Jon Noorlander, Fewocious, Beeple as some of my other favorite artists I love. I also am furious at myself that I don’t have any Trevor Jones work outside of the Pak collaborations :( He is easily the best painter today, in my opinion.

Silver Surfer You’ve collected a substantial amount of NFTs, what is your investment thesis for NFTs and how do you assess what to buy?

Really I have two modes of collecting art. The first is on the Meme platform. Meme is incredible because they already curate the best and upcoming artists in the NFT space. It introduced me to some of my favorite artists that I continue to collect. It also brought some artists works I have meant to buy on some other platforms. It gives everyone a chance to collect an artist’s work that would usually be out of reach. Buying on Meme feels like I am collecting alpha without even realizing it. Take a look at the Badger collaboration; for example, I got into that project because I was introduced by Meme. If you bought the token or the NFT’s, you’d be in insane profits right now.

“My collection was all over the place, to begin with”

I was buying from artists that I didn’t really know very well. Maybe some didn’t care or like me very much. I was very new to NFT’s, and buying them outside of Meme had significant risk unless you had a full picture of the NFT space.

I quickly found my favorite artists to collect; I guess you would term it “Blue Chip” Artists. If you’re new to the space, I would stick with that if you’re not using a platform like Meme. Really it’s the top artists and ones I’ve already mentioned as my favorites.

Here are the artists you can’t go wrong on; you want to buy everything you can connect with from them:

Pak
Beeple
Trevor Jones
Jon Noorlander
Fewocious
Slime Sunday
Allota Money
Jose Delbo
Reisinger Andres
Lushsux
Fvckrender

Here are the up and coming artists in the space that I feel are massively undervalued and most I haven’t had a chance to collect yet:

Aymeric
Frank Wilder
Yonat Vaks
Nahiko (Reminds me of Pak)
Jonathan Wolfe
ARC
Diego Rodriguez
Big Comic Art
Parrotism
Sven Oberwien
Spongenuity
Dr. Jones
Sinclair
Kristy Glass
Mehak Jain
em0tionull

I also want to mention Allota Money again. I love his art so much, and my heart hurts every time I fail to collect his work. One day I will. Please come to Meme and make it easier for me. The best name in the game too :’)

What advice do you have for a new collector/investor in NFTs?

”My best piece is advice: only buy the art you love that you can hold on to forever, even if the price went down”

Stick to the top and upcoming artists if your goal is to preserve and build your wealth/collection within the NFT space. What’s even more fantastic than the art is the friendships I’ve made with some of the artists I’ve collected from. Try to make as many friends as possible. I get so much support from them, and they’re so much wiser than me. I think I love that the most more than any NFT I own.

What are the biggest risks when investing in NFTs?

The most significant risk would be blindly buying art from people you never heard of on SuperRare.

--

--

Eddie Cranswick

Make it happen. 2 Exits #VR #Ecommerce — Obsessed with #NFTs #NFT #CryptoArt #Investor